Young Archie a recognition of mother’s love

Angella Im’s mother was the subject and inspiration for her highly-commended Young Archie portrait.

The Domremy College Five Dock Year 11 student received an honourable mention for the work titled My Saviour in the 2017 portrait prize for young people aged 5 to 18, which attracted more than 2000 entries.

In an artist’s statement to accompany her work, Angella said she chose to portray her mother as she was her main inspiration.

“She gives me strength when no-one else does, loves me more than anyone else can and gives me courage to do what I can to the best of my abilities,” Angela said.

“I wanted to show my love to her through this drawing as she has sacrificed many things to let me keep doing the thing I love – art.”

The prize was Angella’s first since taking on Visual Arts for the HSC. She did not study the subject in Years 9 and 10 and the Young Archies  was the first competition she had entered.

Angella’s work will be on display at the SH Ervin Gallery, The Rocks until 15 October.

Leave a comment

