‘A lot of people don’t realise the inequality’

p1010781aA school writing task has given Alice Kevans a deeper insight into a topic close to her heart.

When asked to write about something she cared about, the Year 6 student at St Charles’ Catholic Primary Ryde chose gender equality.

“My teacher just told me to write about something that was important,” she said.

“I wrote about gender equality because we’re the future of this world. When I grow up I don’t want to go into a job interview and all the boss thinks of me is that I’m a girl.

“I was surprised at how big the pay gap was. I thought it would be a couple of dollars but it can grow to be more than $10,000 a year difference.”

Alice looked at sources including government websites and the blogs of people who had done research on gender equality to formulate her article. She shared it with the editor of Dolly magazine and other publications.

“I think the next step is just making people aware of what is happening, because there are a lot of people who don’t realise the inequality,” she said. “When I finish school I want to be a doctor.”

Alice, who plays soccer for a representative team, said it was nice to see more gender equality in sport and the profiles of female athletes rise during the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic games.

Her article also mentioned the influence that women had on Australia’s history including Mary Mackillop’s contribution to education and the daring feat of Grace Bussell, who was only 16 when in 1876 she made headlines after rescuing about 50 survivors from a shipwreck off the Western Australian coast.

Leave a comment

