Maxwell’s story shines in writing comp

Our Lady of Fatima Caringbah student Maxwell Padimore, 8, is a Write 4 Fun winner. Photo: Gene Ramirez

Our Lady of Fatima Caringbah student Maxwell Padimore, 8, is a Write 4 Fun winner. Photo: Gene Ramirez

“Think, brain, think!” I thought furiously to myself. I happened to run straight into a garbage can. I hid there for about two minutes, then I felt weightlessness. Was I flying? 

A cold sensation wiped over me. I could taste crisp water in my lungs drowning me.

Maxwell Padmore knows how to create suspense with carefully chosen words.

The Year 3 student at Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Primary Caringbah, 8, placed first in the state and second nationally in the Write 4 Fun ‘Top Secret’ 2016 short story competition.

His story, The Follower, was about a person trapped by a natural disaster. “A typhoon follows this person, and he gets trapped and ends up almost dying,” Maxwell said.

“It’s suspenseful. That’s what I aimed for. I really like writing because you can write about anything.”

Maxwell is an avid reader and said his favourite genre was fantasy.

Leave a comment

