HSC: Teresa dances to the top

TeresaTopping the state in dance was not entirely unexpected for 18-year-old Teresa Repice, who was awarded first in the course for HSC Dance.

“It had become a running joke at Bethany College Hurstville ever since my dance teacher Danielle Bennie said I would top the state.

“But I never thought she’d be right. I have never been the best dancer. I guess in the end all that hard work paid off,” said Teresa, who has been dancing since she was three years old.

“Dance is something that I’m passionate about. I can’t remember the last time I sat down with my friends at lunchtime. I was always in the performance space rehearsing on my core and major contemporary performances, sometimes dancing up to three hours a day.”

Teresa credits her teachers – Ms Bennie and Simone Kayrouz – as a source of support and inspiration.

“Dance is an underestimated HSC subject, but I had two really good teachers and watching their passion and enthusiasm for dance – which can be very challenging physically, emotionally and academically – kept me trying my best even though it was a tough two years.

“I almost quit Dance as a subject in my HSC, but I’m so happy now that I didn’t,” she said.

I can’t remember the last time I sat down with my friends at lunchtime. I was … dancing up to three hours a day.

– Teresa Repice

Teresa’s mum, Victoria, remembers Teresa as a toddler always asking when she could dance.

“I told her that when she turned three she could start dancing and on her third birthday the first thing she asked was, ‘Can I go to dancing now?’.”

Mrs Repice said that she couldn’t be prouder of her daughter.

State’s brightest student in Dance, Teresa Repice, with her proud parents Victoria and Francesco.

“No-one on our family has ever achieved at this level. She is definitely a high achiever!” added mum.

The Connells Point teenager is only the second student from her College to take out a HSC first in course award.

She came first out of 901 students enrolled in Dance for the 2015 HSC. Another Bethany College Hurstville student, Mariah Ahladiotis, came fourth in the state in the same subject.

This year 116 students received First in Course awards. At the First in Course award ceremony, NSW Minister for Education, Adrian Piccoli, said that securing first place in an HSC course was an outstanding school credential.

NSW Minister for Education, Adrian Piccoli, congratulates Bethany College Hurstville’s best and brightest Teresa Repice at the 2015 HSC First in Course awards ceremony at Technology Park today.

Leave a comment

