Year 12 student draws opportunity

_CE19110a

Art focus: Nick Varney with drawings from his HSC Visual Arts major work. Photo: Kitty Beale

Weeks before completing his HSC Visual Arts major work, Nick Varney had his next move drawn out.  The Year 12 student at De La Salle Catholic College Cronulla will take up full-time work at Sydney Posters in Darlinghurst after impressing staff of the business during work experience.

“Graphic design is one element of what I will be doing within a pre-press print production role,” he said. “Undoubtedly there will be skills that I’ve learnt in Visual Arts that will benefit me in the future.” English, Hospitality and Business Studies are among the other subjects Nick has studied for his HSC. His major work, titled Spivs, is a collection of Ink drawings of British con men and ‘likeable rogues’.

“I feel like my skills have developed since I started this however many months ago,” he said. “I’ve been using ink with these but outside of school I paint a bit. I’ve been very focused on school at the moment.”

Leave a comment

